CHICAGO, IL – The Equality Illinois Political Action Committee ( Equality Illinois PAC ) has endorsed the re-election of Atty. Gen. Lisa Madigan, Secretary of State Jesse White and Comptroller Judy Baar Topinka in the Nov. 4 General Election.


With no incumbent in the race for treasurer, Equality Illinois PAC, endorses both candidates, state Rep. Tom Cross, a Republican, and state Sen. Mike Frerichs, a Democrat.Equality-Illinois


These bipartisan endorsements in statewide contests follow the support announced in September for the re-election of Gov. Pat Quinn, which is being backed by an aggressive Equality Illinois PAC get-out-the-vote effort.


"We have come a long way as a society when we have both Republican and Democratic candidates for statewide office agreeing in their support for full equality for LGBT people. And I am proud that Equality Illinois PAC and its fiercely bipartisan work has helped bring this moment about," said Bernard Cherkasov, CEO of Equality Illinois, the state's oldest and largest advocacy organization for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender Illinoisans.


"Unfortunately not every statewide candidate has evolved on LGBT rights, but Illinoisans have and will continue to reject those candidates who play partisan politics with the lives of LGBT people," Cherkasov said.


Equality Illinois PAC is the political affiliate of Equality Illinois. "As the only statewide PAC focused on LGBT issues, we endorse the re-election of incumbents who have demonstrated through word and deed their support for policies important to lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender Illinoisans and their families and allies," said Nicole Bashor, Chair of Equality Illinois PAC.


"Attorney General Madigan and Secretary White—two Democrats—and Comptroller Topinka—a Republican—were there for us during the crucial fight for the freedom to marry in Illinois. And with their votes in the legislature, Rep. Cross and Sen. Frerichs were critical in the marriage bill's narrow victory," Bashor said.


"We recognize and are grateful for the strong support Lt. Gov. Sheila Simon has given for LGBT equality, but with our policy of endorsing incumbents, we give the nod to the incumbent Topinka in the comptroller's race," Bashor said. "At the same time it is significant that there are races, such as the comptroller's and treasurer's contests, where candidates from both parties take our issues seriously and listen to LGBT Illinoisans."


The Equality Illinois Political Action Committee (Equality Illinois PAC) also endorsed legislative candidates for the Nov. 4 general election, including incumbents and challengers.


"This list of General Assembly candidates, endorsed by the only statewide PAC focusing on issues of importance to lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender Illinois, their families and allies, includes incumbents who have led the way for LGBT equality and candidates who proudly support LGBT equality," said Bernard Cherkasov, CEO of Equality Illinois.


This is the third round of endorsements for the important Nov. 4 election. Earlier endorsements supported the re-election of Gov. Pat Quinn and announced support in the other statewide races. Read those at More legislative endorsements will be announced in the days ahead.


The Equality Illinois PAC endorses:


* = incumbent




John Cullerton* (D-6)

Bill Cunningham* (D-18)

Suzy Glowiak (D-24)

Terry Link* (D-30)

Andy Manar* (D-48)




Dan Burke* (D-1)

Ann Williams* (D-11)

Greg Harris* (D-13)

Kelly Cassidy* (D-14)

Laura Fine* (D-17)

Mo Khan (D-20)

Christian Mitchell* (D-26)

Will Guzzardi (D-39)

Anna Moeller* (D-43)

Deb Conroy*(D-46)

Elaine Nekritz* (D-57)

Sam Yingling* (D-62)

Mike Smiddy* (D-71)

Anthony DeLuca* (D-80)

Carol Ammons (D-103)


Candidate endorsements are based on questionnaires and their records. Candidatesseeking an endorsement should contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


For national races, The Human Rights Campaign is proud to endorse the following candidates in the 2014 elections.




  • Richard Durbin (D-IL)




  • Bill Enyart (D-IL-12)votebrandingwindow
  • Bobby L. Rush (D -IL-1)
  • Robin Kelly (D-IL-2)
  • Luis V. Gutierrez (D-IL-4)
  • Mike Quigley (D-IL-5)
  • Danny K. Davis (D-IL-7)
  • Tammy Duckworth (D-IL-8)
  • Janice D. Schakowsky (D-IL-9)
  • Brad Schneider (D-IL-10)
  • Bill Foster (D-IL-11)
  • Ann Callis (D-IL-13)
  • Cheri Bustos (D-IL-17)





INstrgram circle Facebookcircle twittercirlce2 tubblrcircle3 youtubecircle3VimeocirclePinterest Circle Icon