JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. - The LGBT Caucus in the 100th Missouri General Assembly will increase to three on Wednesday, January 9, 2019.


On November 6, 2018, Missouri State Representatives Greg Razer (D-25-Kansas City) and Tom Hannegan (R-65-St. Charles) were both re-elected to a second term. They will be joined in the House by Ian Mackey who won his election to succeed Democratic State Rep. Stacey Newman in Missouri's 87th State House District in St. Louis.


Mackey, a Democrat, will become the ninth openly gay legislator in Missouri history.


Democratic State Rep. Tim Van Zandt of Kansas City was Missouri's first out LGBT lawmaker in Jefferson City serving from 1995-2003. He was followed in the House by State Reps. Jeanette Mott Oxford (2005-2013), Mike Colona (2009-2017), both Democrats from St. Louis; Republican State Rep. Zach Wyatt (2011-2013) from Kirksville, Democratic State Rep. Randy Dunn (2013-2017) from Kansas City, and State Sen. Jolie Justus (2007-2015), a Democrat from Kansas City.


The 2018 midterm election saw a record breaking 7 openly LGBT candidates run in Missouri for the state legislature and Congress.



From Left to Right: Missouri Sate Representatives Greg Razer, Tom Hannegan and Ian Mackey




INstrgram circle Facebookcircle twittercirlce2 tubblrcircle3 youtubecircle3VimeocirclePinterest Circle Icon