WASHINGTON, DC – Today, NLGJA: The Association of LGBTQ Journalists announced the recipients of its 2019 Excellence in Journalism Awards and recognized exemplary work produced in 2018. The highest individual awards, NLGJA Journalist of the Year and Sarah Pettit Memorial Award for the LGBTQ Journalist of the Year, have been awarded to Robert W. Fieseler and Lucas Grindley, respectively.


“Our judges say they had a hard time choosing winners – an encouraging indicator of the great work journalists are producing about our communities,” NLGJA President Sharif Durhams said. “NLGJA is proud to recognize the work of so many outstanding journalists.”


NLGJA’s Excellence in Journalism Awards were established in 1993 to foster, recognize and reward excellence in journalism on issues related to the LGBTQ community. In recent years, the program was expanded to more than 30 categories. The awards will be presented throughout the NLGJA National Convention, to be held August 29 – September 1 in New Orleans.


With support from the Gannett Foundation, the Al Neuharth Award for Innovation in Investigative Journalism is presented to Pete Madden, Brian Epstein, Cindy Galli and Alex Hosenball for “Prejudice and Pride” on ABC News.


The 2019 NLGJA Excellence in Journalism Awards are presented to:


Special Recognition Awards:


Journalist of the Year Award

Robert W. Fieseler


Sarah Pettit Memorial Award for the LGBTQ Journalist of the Year Award

Lucas Grindley


The Al Neuharth Award for Innovation in Investigative Journalism Award

Pete Madden, Brian Epstein, Cindy Galli and Alex Hosenball for “Prejudice and Pride,” ABC News

Print/Online Awards:


Excellence in Book Writing Award

Robert W. Fieseler for “Tinderbox: The Untold Story of the Up Stairs Lounge Fire and the Rise of Gay Liberation,” Liveright Publishing


Excellence in Feature Writing Award


Courtney Mabeus for “No Turning Back: The Story of a Transgender Man’s Experience as a Navy Sailor,” The Virginian-Pilot


Excellence in Feature Writing, Non-Daily Award


Eva Berlin Sylvestre for “The Thief of Self,” Georgia Voice


Excellence in Food Writing Award


Kyle Raymond Fitzpatrick for “Queer Food Is Hiding In Plain Sight,” Eater


Excellence in Long Form Journalism Award


Emily Starbuck Gerson for “How Four Latinx Lesbians Restarted Their Lives After Being Wrongfully Imprisoned,” INTO (IntoMore.com)


Excellence in Newswriting Award


Susan Miller for “Three Years After Same-Sex Marriage Ruling, Protections for LGBT Families Undermined,” USA TODAY


Excellence in Newswriting, Non-Daily Award


Adriana Fraser for “Philly’s First Out Trans Police Officer Buried as a Man,” Philadelphia Gay News


Excellence in Photojournalism Award


Mengwen Cao for “Wigstock, ‘An Iconic Piece of Drag History,’ Lets Its Roots Show At 2018 Revival,” NPR


Excellence in Profile Writing Award


Liam Stack for “Christine Hallquist Would Like to Talk About the Power Grid,” The New York Times


Excellence in Sports Writing Award


Stefanie Loh for “Meet Seattle Sports’ Newest Power Couple: Sue Bird and Megan Rapinoe,” The Seattle Times


Excellence in Student Journalism Award


Abbey White for “The Real Story Of The YMCA That Inspired The Village People’s Gay Anthem,” Gothamist


Excellence in Travel Writing Award


Mark Chesnut for “The Best of Gay Bogota,” Passport Magazine


Digital Awards:


Excellence in Blogging Award


Melanie Nathan for “LGBT Refugee Peaceful Protest Turns Violent at UNHCR Compound in Kenya,” www.oblogdee.blog


Excellence in Digital Video Award


Zach Stafford, Pelin Keskin, McGraw Wolfman, Nyle Emerson, James Barry, Mike Horan, Daniel Geneen, Clifford Endo Gulibert and Maureen Giannone Fitzgerald for “Gentrification Takes Its Toll on Nightlife in America’s Oldest Gay Neighborhood,” Eater.com


Excellence in Multimedia Award


Desmond Meagley, Paulina Ortega, Peter Disney, Jen Tribbet, Shanya Williams, Asha Richardson, Radamés Ajna, Teresa Chin, Elena Botkin-Levy, Lissa Soep, Ellin O’Leary, Asha Richardson, Teresa Chin and Desmond Meagley for “In Their Own Words: Beyond The Binary,” YR Media


Excellence in Online Journalism Award


Mitchell Kuga for “Some Libraries Are Facing Backlash Against LGBT Programs — And Holding Their Ground,” BuzzFeed News


Editorial Awards:


Excellence in Column Writing Award


Spencer Kornhaber for “The Shadow Over ‘Call Me by Your Name’,” The Atlantic


Excellence in Opinion/Editorial Writing Award


Mark S. King for “The Truth About the 7,000,” POZ


Broadcast Awards:


Excellence in Documentary Award


Gabriel Silverman, Fiona Dawson and Jamie Coughlin for “TransMilitary,” Logo TV


Excellence in Local Television Award


Michael Scotto for “Ballroom,” Spectrum News NY1


Excellence in Network Television Award


Sharon Matthews for “We The Fans – Dallas,” ESPN Features – ESPN


Excellence in Podcasts Award


Anna Almendrala, Simon Ganz, Nicholas Offenberg and Sara Patterson for “IVFML Becoming Family: We’re Both Going To Be Moms,” HuffPost


Excellence in Radio Award


Keya Roy for “How One Transgender Dancer Challenges the Bollywood Binary,” KUOW 94.9


Coverage Awards:


Excellence in Business Coverage Award


Julia Carpenter for “When Work Puts You Back in the Closet,” CNN Business


Excellence in Education Coverage Award


Caitlin Emma for “Transgender Students Under Trump,” POLITICO


Excellence in Health or Fitness Coverage Award


Emily Zak for “Out in the Woods,” Sierra Magazine


Excellence in HIV/AIDS Coverage Award


Jesse McQuarters and Edward Livingston, MD for “Working on the Precipice: On the Frontlines of the AIDS Epidemic at the CDC,” JAMA Network


Excellence in International Coverage Award


Oscar Lopez for “‘I Don’t Go Out During the Day’: Inside Senegal’s LGBT Crackdown,” The Daily Beast


Excellence in Legal Coverage Award


Lauren McGaughy and Tommy Noel for “Homosexual Conduct’ Was Illegal 15 Years Ago. How Far Have LGBTQ Rights in Texas Come Since?,”The Dallas Morning News


Excellence in Political Coverage Award


Jeremy C. Fox for “‘Gays for Trump’: The President’s Small, Vocal — and Unlikely — Fan Club,” The Boston Globe


Excellence in QPOC Coverage Award


Galilee Abdullah for “Black Comic Books: Black Representation in Japanese Manga and Anime,” www.wbez.org


Excellence in Religion Coverage Award


Doug Moore for “Faced With Deportation, Man from Central America Takes Refuge in a Maplewood Church,” St. Louis Post-Dispatch


Excellence in Transgender Coverage Award


Tara Bahrampour for “Crossing the Divide,” The Washington Post


# # #


About NLGJA: The Association of LGBTQ Journalists

NLGJA is an organization of journalists, media professionals, educators and students working from within the news industry to foster fair and accurate coverage of LGBTQ issues. NLGJA opposes all forms of workplace bias and provides professional development to its members. For more information, visit www.nlgja.org.



INstrgram circle Facebookcircle twittercirlce2 tubblrcircle3 youtubecircle3VimeocirclePinterest Circle Icon